Practically in the shadow of his Syracuse Savings Bank Building, sits Joseph Silsbee's Amos Block. It was part of the massive complex of buildings that stretched another three blocks west, forming the Jacob Amos & Sons mills. It was designed in 1877 and constructed the following year. The 1878 structure incorporates an older structure with an addition and a new facade to create a series of stores and warehouse for the milling company. It was constructed for the Amos family and was likely overseen by Charles Amos, a son of Jacob Amos Sr. who oversaw operations of the Syracuse mill.High Victorian Gothic business blocks that he designed elsewhere in the city of Syracuse.
The facade boasts a dictionary-full of masonry details and motifs. The masonry surface is accented with a series of masonry piers. Fields of wall are composed of bricks that are turned at forty-five degrees to create a serrated pattern. Others are accented in a checkerboard pattern with every other brick recessed.